On Democracy

By Dr David Laing Dawson

In my childhood I took my birth certificate with me to sign up for a summer soccer league. Of course I lost it. There is a good chance I did not tell this to my parents. But three nights later we all responded to a knock on the door. Standing on the porch was a stocky man who proved to have a thick middle European accent and my birth certificate, a little grass stained.

I remember all this because he gave me a stern lecture about my birthright as a citizen in this democracy while I blushed under my father’s gaze. Although, in my defense it was either my father or my mother who allowed me to take this precious piece of paper on my bike ride to the soccer field in the first place.

Among many others I have been writing about the threat to democracy Donald Trump and his colleagues pose as they systematically undermine the Fourth Estate, the judiciary, instill unease in the citizens, point their fingers at immigrants, and undermine the people’s confidence in the electoral process.

But I did not think it would be so easy. Surely the very idea of free, regular, unfettered elections is sacrosanct in this American Democracy of which they are so proud.

Apparently not. A new poll finds that over 50 percent of Republicans would be quite happy to have the 2020 elections postponed if either Trump or the Republican Party suggested or requested this.

Wow. Should not their instinctive response be, “No way!”

So the groundwork has been laid. And apparently few Americans received the awakening I received in my childhood, a stern lecture from a man who escaped a tyranny, and who knew shortsightedness, indifference, and stupidity can lose a democracy but only bloodshed can regain it.

One thought on “On Democracy

  1. Sadly too many people have joined Trump in his playpen. It is time for the Americans to stop normalizing his behaviour. It is time to stop putting Trump’s toys back in his pram. The world is not a game. It is nerve racking to watch. The world will take the booby prize if he is allowed to persist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

