Birds and Squirrels

By Dr David Laing Dawson

I woke up this morning and saw through the window that a mid size but rather colorless bird was pecking at a dead branch. Down, peck, peck, up, look around, down, peck, peck. Was it eating grubs, termites, ants?

A black squirrel scampered along the top of the fence. And I wondered, “Do squirrels ever stroll?”

These observations and the queries they evoked sparked a small pleasure, a small sense of well being.

They also tell me that I am not depressed, that is, depression is not impairing the scanning, inquisitive function of my brain. Nor is my brain under the kind of threat that forces a dramatic reduction in its field of awareness.

I also know that unless I rear up and threaten both the bird and the squirrel I am nothing to them. I do not exist at this moment within their sphere of awareness. And this means, at least with respect to the squirrel and the bird, I am not psychotic. My brain has not created a false narrative regarding my relationship with squirrel and bird.

Do squirrels ever stroll? Do birds ever eat leisurely?

Depression impairs the ability of the brain to scan, focus, inquire, be concerned about, all but itself, its sense of dread, and the unwellness of its own body.

Psychosis impairs the ability of the brain to fathom its boundaries and relationships with others and then, because it is an imperative that we do so, because it is a primitive imperative that the brain find a way of organizing data to determine friend from foe, kin from stranger, threat from security, it applies the band aid of a simple false narrative.

Do squirrels ever stroll? Do birds ever eat leisurely?

One thought on “Birds and Squirrels

Leave a Reply

